The big transition

So, here I am, well into the “big” transition!

I retired from U of T effective July 1 – this is day 2 of official retirement!! You can see a story that my office posted on the University of Toronto, School of Graduate Studies website about my retirement: http://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/facultyandstaff/Pages/Alderdice.aspx

Despite just retiring, my last day of work was back at the end of May when I began my long-accrued vacation. I’ve spent the last few weeks getting my apartment ready for summer rentals, and myself ready for the journey to Cape Breton. I bought a lovely house in a rural route of Baddeck, not too far from my long-time friend Linda Wright. Linda lives with Terry at Big Hill, and runs a pottery studio at Big Hill Retreat just outside of Baddeck.

After the kids’ graduations, I hopped into my very fully loaded car and headed to Montreal to stay with my good friends, Missy and Gordie – Missy and I have been friends since kindergarten, though it was high school when our friendship was at its apex!

Here are Missy and Gordie in their beautiful backyard in Brassard, Quebec!

About foreshadowandlight

I am a weaver and artist working out of Meadowbrook Weaving and Art Studio in Cape Breton. I also work part of the year from Toronto, Ontario CONTACT: jane.alderdice@hotmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The big transition

  1. ruthhurd says:

    Congratulations on your now official retirement. The U of T write-up was very interesting and laudatory. Enjoy your summer in Cape Breton. Hope to see you in NYC in the Fall.

Leave a Reply

