First Cape Breton warp

I decided to start weaving a set of six summer placemats for my new dining table. Each one is a bit different – kind of a sampler set. Many experienced weavers find placemats too pedestrian, something akin to a potter and mugs perhaps. However, I love weaving placemats – they are quick and fun and each set can be so different. I am placing a large yarn order this week and will soon get onto building some stock which will include more placemats, scarves, and throws.

Warping the loom

Warping the loom

Placemats - the mugs of weaving!

Placemats – the mugs of weaving!

About foreshadowandlight

I am a weaver and artist working out of Meadowbrook Weaving and Art Studio in Cape Breton. I also work part of the year from Toronto, Ontario CONTACT: jane.alderdice@hotmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Cape Breton warp

  1. I’m so happy to see you creating at your loom again! and as a potter who makes lots of mugs, I don’t find them pedestrian either…..I love the rhythm of throwing mug after mug…..something very rewarding…..looking forward to seeing the finished product!
    cheers, Linda

Leave a Reply

