Spring plein air practice

As mentioned in the Ducks post, the weather is so wonderful and the landscape so enticing, I have been doing plein air painting in watercolor for the past week. Did I mention that there are no bugs yet?!

Here are some samples from the 15 quick paintings I did this week. I am posting more for reference than anything. They don’t meet my mental standard, but things can always improve, right?

These are very small, only about 4″ x 3″ each.

And here are some larger efforts, larger in terms of landscape and size of the work.

I painted the second scene twice in two days. While the second once was good, I liked the freshness of this first effort best. View is from top of Rooster Hill, 5 minute drive from my place.

Well, the sun is coming down enough to make the landscape less washed out and a bit more enticing. So, I’m off to do another one.

About foreshadowandlight

I am a weaver and artist working out of Meadowbrook Weaving and Art Studio in Cape Breton. I also work part of the year from Toronto, Ontario CONTACT: jane.alderdice@hotmail.com
Gallery | This entry was posted in Painting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spring plein air practice

  1. these look really lovely….they have a nice loose feeling to them.

  2. Valerie says:

    I like these Jane!

  3. Thank you both kind friends!

  4. ruthhurd says:

    I like your notebooks. Today must be a tough day for you, remembering Margot. Glad you’re out enjoying painting the scenery.

  5. Thanks Ruth. Yes, five years ago she was gone, May 3. Brings tears to my eyes every time I think of her. She was a wonderful mother. Good of you to remember. I was in New York when she had her fall as I guess you recall. Hope to see you guys and Bill & Gloria this year. Hello to Nancy for me please. So glad we’ve stayed in touch. xo

Leave a Reply

